Mizz Alex

Maxwell’s New Album

Posted on: June 17, 2009

I reviewed this for my aunt who listens to Maxwell because I don’t but…

Maxwell has a new album about to be dropped on July 7th called BLACKsummers’night. I previewed a track from it called Bad Habits and it is a very seductive and passionate song with some of the lyrics stating “I can’t control the feeling, girl cause I know you’re here, I feel you from the floor to the ceiling; I wanna give it to you over there“. This song will most definately put anyone in the mood for a hot summer night.

Maxwell BLACKsummers Night

4 Responses to "Maxwell’s New Album"

I’m a major Maxwell fan, seen him several times in concert & met/hugged/kissed him. Real quality guy and clearly an awesome talent. With that said, I HATE this c.d. After the first 3 songs it goes completely downhill. Talking about being bummed out! By the last “song-ette”, a brief, funky instrumental track I’d LOVED to have heard more of, I was ready for a drank, a joint, a shot – SOMETHING! It sounds like he was going thru sumthin sumthin while on that 8 yr hiatus. Lyrically, it sounds like an ode to heroin. Musically, zzzzzzzz… I certainly hope the follow up discs have more to offer. He should know that in THIS game, you can’t afford to stay away too long – somebody else will take YOUR flow and win a grammy.

Just curious – the album has been out 1yr today (platnium), Maxwell has toured to ‘sold out’ arenas and produced 2 top chart videos (Pretty Wings, Fist full of tears). Do you still feel the same about your initial review of the album?

Thanks

Is a possiblity when Maxwell comes to Philly that they will a add a second show? I would really like to see him but I am not able to afford the tickets.

I love the new Maxwell CD. It is different but I think you have to really listen to it to appreciate the songs and music. Some of my favorite traks are Preetywings, Helpsomebody, Stoptheworld, LoveU, and FistFullOfTears. I think he gives you your money’s worth. It is a good CD. Plus you get a bonus DVD.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

